7 – Williamsburg to Portsmouth – 53.3 – 522.5

In Williamsburg, I slept in the backyard of a cozy church. It was about 4:00 pm after I had a cheeseburger at Five Forks Cafe and I knew I had to check the ferry schedule out of the neighboring Jamestown, but rather than rush through finding a campsite after boarding a ferry in which I didn’t exactly know what it would look like on the other side of the river, I passed a church and asked what the deal was. I told them I was traveling south and have been camping and staying with kind people along the way, and if it was possible to camp on their land. They were excited to reply yes, and that due to current construction, there is even a port-a-potty I am free to use.

I awoke the next day hungry and in the mood for Five Forks again, where I met my same server and sat at my same booth with an outlet nearby to charge my electronics. The Greek Omelet is recommended: feta, tomatos, spinach, probably three eggs and hash browns! Enough to fill a hungry cyclists belly through lunch. 

Aboard the Jamestown-Scotland ferry, I enjoyed a free ride to the other side of the water alongside vehicles with license plates as far as New Jersey. I’ve been on and off route 17 through Virginia, and now, North Carolina, and although it is much quieter now than it was in Virginia, it is still a busy road when crossing interstate entrances and exits, as well as coming into and out of urban areas like Portsmouth. 

My couch host, Amy, was happy with a guest to feed multiple servings of pasta with mixed veggies and Alfredo sauce which I was more than happy to share company with and eat. Friday night out in Norfolk wasn’t exactly what I would call a “rager”, but exciting enough to people watch over a bowl of frozen yogurt with good company and happy laughs. 

   
   

